• Home
  • Integrations
  • SDKs
  • Guides
  • API docs
No results for ""
EXPAND ALL

EDIT ON GITHUB

The Users dashboard

Read time: 4 minutes
Last edited: Oct 27, 2021

Overview

This topic explains what the Users dashboard is, how it is populated, and how to use it.

The Users dashboard gives you a summary view of how each user sees all of the features on your site, and lets you customize their experience from one screen. You can even set expiration dates for flag targeting, or remove flags targeted to individual users.

Understanding the Users dashboard

The Users dashboard populates automatically when users encounter a feature flag and are evaluated by a LaunchDarkly SDK. The data on the Users dashboard is populated from the user data you send in variation calls, as well as data from identify calls. To learn more about users and user attributes, read Understanding user attributes.

You cannot add users manually

You cannot create users in the Users dashboard. The Users dashboard is not a database, and exists to serve users that have already been evaluated by a LaunchDarkly SDK. Evaluation always happens with the SDK locally on the machine.

If a user's properties change within five minutes of their previous evaluation, and the user key stays the same, the Users dashboard deduplicates the user and does not reflect the latest evaluation. This does not affect variation calls, which always use the attribute values passed to them.

From the Users dashboard, you can filter users by standard or custom attributes.

Here is an screenshot of the Users dashboard:

The Users dashboard.
The Users dashboard.

You can sort the list to identify the oldest or most recent users in your LaunchDarkly account. By default, the most recently active users appear first. Click the toggle arrow to sort the Last Seen column to sort the dashboard by least recently active users.

To learn more about how the Users dashboard is populated, and how you might exceed the 100,000,000 user limit, read Anonymous users.

User storage

The Users page shows only cached user information. Users live in the dashboard for 30 days from creation. If a user does not evaluate a feature flag within 30 days, they age out of the system and their information no longer appears in the Users dashboard. Those users reappear on the dashboard when they evaluate a feature flag again, provided your account has not reached the maximum number of users.

If you want to keep users on the dashboard that are calling variations less frequently than every 30 days, you can manually call identify for all of the users that you wish to retain. To learn how to do this in your SDK, read Identifying and changing users.

All accounts are limited to 100,000,000 users. If you reach the 100,000,000 users limit, new users don't appear in the Users dashboard until stale users age out of the 30-day user cache. Users that evaluate a feature flag within 30 days of initial population don't age out of the system. If you stop creating large amounts of users at once, 30 days later those stale users are removed.

Do you need more users?

You can add more users to your LaunchDarkly account if you need to. Your bill will not go up if you add more users to your LaunchDarkly account.

To add more users, contact Support.

Customizing the Users dashboard

You can customize which attributes appear on the Users dashboard. To start, click the Attributes button.

Here is a screenshot of the Attributes button on the Users dashboard:

The Users dashboard with the "Attributes" button called out.
The Users dashboard with the "Attributes" button called out.

The "Attributes" menu lets you choose standard or custom attributes to appear on the Users dashboard. After you choose specific attributes, that view persists when you visit the Users dashboard in the future.

Here is a screenshot of the "Attributes" menu:

The "Attributes" menu with some options selected.
The "Attributes" menu with some options selected.

Modifying feature flags for a user

Click a user to manage the feature flags that apply to them and see a full list of their attributes.

To modify a feature flag the user sees:

  1. Navigate to the Users dashboard.

  2. Click the user you wish to modify. Their user page appears, with their unique Attributes on the left and their Flag settings on the right.

  3. Click the dropdown next to the flag you wish to modify to change which variation the user receives:

    The Flag settings screen with different flag variations called out.
    The Flag settings screen with different flag variations called out.

  4. To remove the custom variation setting, click the X next to the flag.

  5. Click Save Settings to save your changes.

Scheduling removal dates for user targeting

Scheduling user removal dates is a Pro and Enterprise feature

Scheduling user removal dates is available to customers on a Pro or Enterprise plan. To learn more, read about our pricing. To upgrade your plan, contact Sales.

You can also specify a date and time when a user should be removed from a flag's targeting settings. When this date and time arrives, LaunchDarkly removes the user from the flag's targeting automatically.

You can identify users who are scheduled to be removed from any flag's targeting settings by looking for the clock icon next to the flag's name.

The Users dashboard with a flag with removal scheduled called out.
The Users dashboard with a flag with removal scheduled called out.

To schedule a date for the user to be removed from the flag's targeting settings:

  1. Navigate to the Users dashboard.
  2. Click the user you wish to modify. Their user page appears, with their unique Attributes on the left and their Flag settings on the right.
  3. Click the overflow menu. The user editing menu appears.

A user's entry with the "Remove user on" menu expanded.
A user's entry with the "Remove user on" menu expanded.

  1. In the "Remove user on" section, click to expand a calendar view.
  2. Set a date and time for the user to be removed from that flag's targeting settings.
  3. Click Save with Comment.

When you schedule a user to be removed from a flag, a clock icon appears next to the flag's varation. Hover over it to see when that user will be removed.

To learn more about targeting users for specific dates, read Scheduling expiration dates for user targeting.

Removing a user

You can delete individual users from the dashboard, or by opening their page and clicking the Delete button.

Deleting users from the dashboard does not decrease your Monthly Active User (MAU) count.

Here is an image of a user screen:

A user's screen with the Delete button called out.
A user's screen with the Delete button called out.

Exceeding your Monthly Active Users limit

We never stop or throttle LaunchDarkly services based on your Monthly Active Users (MAU) limit, but we may not save all user information for users once you've exceeded 100% of your MAU. For more information about MAU, read Usage metrics.

You can also use the LaunchDarkly API to delete users. To learn more, read the API docs.